Go Back   Virgil Donati Messageboard > Drums & Drumming > Tips and Techniques
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-23-2005, 06:08 PM   #1
dayle0326

Unhappy i need help!!! PLease

i've been playing double bas for about 6 months and still i have had no luck with speed, could someone tell me a technique for speed?
that woulld be great
Thanks!
Old 11-23-2005, 06:31 PM   #2
VeNoM

Ok, where to begin. First off man 6 months isnt long at all for doubls about 2 years to 4 is what it will take to be a wiz on it. Second, get yourself a metronome and climb that for as long as you play you will see inprovements probably in the first month. Third, Go read some of Demigod's posts thoose really have alot of information about speed on any part of the drum. Good luck man
Old 11-23-2005, 06:31 PM   #3
ShadowDrummer

Hey dude,

Double-bass is tricky, not usually because of your technique, but because of your bass pedal.

Make sure to loosen the tension on your beaters, first off. When I was first learning double-kick, I thought that the tighter the tension was, the more response I'd get out of the bass pedals. problem was, I had to work harder. My legs got tired quicker, and to begin with, the increased tension made me have to work to actually hit the beater.

Also, try angling your beaters so that they're not as far back as they are. It'll feel a little awkward at first, because the combination of lesser tension, and lesser angle will make it almost TOO easy to hit the drum. That's when you have to learn to slow down a little and concentrate on keeping good time. But it's a LOT easier to play with looser pedals, than really tight ones.

Hope that helps!
Old 11-23-2005, 06:32 PM   #4
ShadowDrummer

Oh, and by the way, double-kick doesn't take very long if you do it right. It doesn't take 2-4 years, trust me!
Old 11-23-2005, 06:37 PM   #5
VeNoM