Go Back   Virgil Donati Messageboard > General > General Chat
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 03-29-2005, 03:39 AM   #1
DD_Timekeeper

Musical situation in your country

Let's do a survey!
how many gigs in a year (average)? how do you find your gigs? have you got an agency, or "do it yourself" method? do you play in one or more band? is it your regular job or you have to do something else to live? (maybe this one is a duplicate question... seen in another thread...) how much time do you play every gig? etc. etc.

In Italy, if you play an instruments, you're someone who's playing a game, not a serious professional... there's not much consideration for musicians... matter of culture... however I play 60-70 times in a year, with different bands... anyway, moneys are not enough to live with, so I'm also a computer technician... Here gigs goes from 1h 30m to 3h and more...
Old 03-29-2005, 04:21 AM   #2
vdreignsuponus1

Send a message via AIM to vdreignsuponus1 Send a message via MSN to vdreignsuponus1
my average a year is maybe 3 or 4 gigs! there isnt much demand for GOOD music here! not a lot of places to play that arent too big for the city/cities to let us play there. all everyone wants is..emo..punk..death metal..and all that stuff. so, us being a little high school prog band isn't going to get us a whole lot, regardless! but i am a community board member and we r setting up a music festival to raise money for a community music room/recording room. so, good stuff!
vdreignsuponus1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2005, 05:05 AM   #3
pcannon