PDA

View Full Version : Palms down vs. Thumbs up

OB1Drums
01-27-2004, 08:48 PM
I have been practicing an average of 2 hours a day on the pad and probably 3-4 sessions weekly at 3-4 hours a at a time as well. Within the last year I've really tried to focus on sticking patterns. Someone told me that by playing thumbs up I would "shock" my thumbs, so I started playing more palms down. Recently I've been experiencing tightness in my dominant right forearm. I've never noticed this before and I'm wondering if I could be developing carpel tunnel syndrome from playing palms down. I do tend to drop my wrist as well, like you would when you do a push. I've noticed people playing both ways. Can you help me?

peter
01-27-2004, 09:36 PM
OB1,

This is common among German (palm-down) players but
try and cover the bases before doing anything radical. I
have played both ways. Now, I play French (palm side).
I find it more comfortable but note that you must dev-
elop your fingers and hand more for power, this way. It
is something that takes time.

Try a combination of the two, for starters and we'll talk
more about it.

OB1Drums
01-27-2004, 10:58 PM
Peter,

I appreciate your reply. I do practice with my fingers as well. When I use my fingers I play french. When doing so I drop my hands so the stick does'nt hit the back of my palm to allow for good rebound. Once again I have concerns about my hand being in a crooked position (unnatural position). When you play with your fingers do you angle your wrist as well? Perhaps you keep your wrist staight, if so how do you acheive a full stroke when the stick hits your hand. Also I like to know if you have noticed any stiffness in your forearms when playing palms down.

Brobjer
01-31-2004, 03:33 AM