PDA

View Full Version : Your Progress Over The Years....

RLRRLRLL!!
03-17-2006, 09:10 PM
I was just wonderin'....do you have a record of your improvement over the years???...have you ever been in a situation where you have to practice something new (doubles on the feet for example)...and you totally think you CAN'T do it, and after years of practice,...you suddenly realize...I'M ACTUALLY PLAYIN' THIS #$%5!!!!!......have you ever been in that spot???...and BTW, how do you get motivated thru those tedious 110 bpm practice sessions???...do you actually imagine the future and see yourself playin' the things you wanna play....or do you actually have FUN playin' slow??

jonberg
03-18-2006, 12:27 AM
Actually I do have an recording of the first time I started practicing doubles with the feet about 7years ago. And since then Iīve been recording most of my practise sessions. Itīs fun to go back and listen and see the progress yourself, always good to record yourself and see your weaknessess.
I think you have to have a goal with your practise to maintain focused on it, I guess I saw myself playing doubles like Virgil did, but I gave up that idea after awhile ;)

Helmet
03-18-2006, 03:08 AM
I had real difficulty applying flams to patterns about three years ago - they just sounded cack, then I realised after seeing Thomas Lang that as the speed up you can bring the grace and accent notes really close together (but not simultaneous) to accommodate. Realising this has meant now it's simple to add them and do so dynamically. I find that practice will perfect a concept but you need a foundation idea like that to stop you from practising what could be the wrong thing.

roxz
03-18-2006, 03:47 AM
Every now and then I realise how easy it would have been if I knew it earlier

Footsoldier88
03-18-2006, 04:04 PM