PDA

View Full Version : traditional grip doubles

timthedrummer
06-22-2004, 01:08 AM
hey im just wondering if u guys could describe your technique for double strokes with traditional grip- i am fairly new to the grip, and i use the gladstone technique for matched- where the second stroke is a finger snap. traditional i use a similiar technique
just curious to see how u guys do ur doubles with traditional

Adam
06-24-2004, 06:48 PM
I guess I'm kind of like Lang in this sense, but I'm kind of obsessed with control. For me it's just a matter of muscling it out...to a point. Sometimes I try and accent the second strokes when I'm practicing on a pad to make sure I don't bounce...but yeah, the simplest way I can explain it is...hit the drum with your left hand....now hit it again. haha. Usually I use all wrist untill I reach the point where I'm not fast enough, and then I bounce the stick...but like I said I try as hard as possible to have each stroke the same level of everything...sorry for rambling hehe

timthedrummer
06-25-2004, 02:12 AM
thanks alot more that reply adam
i have been patiently waiting for at least one person to reply.
yeh i think i want to base my technique of langs- lots of control.
cheers bro

Adam
06-25-2004, 06:37 AM
Hey no problem. I checked out your web site too! I haven't heard you drum yet, but you know it's funny...I can usually tell how good a drummer is by how comfortable they look behind a kit, and you look very relaxed~!

Lucius
06-25-2004, 08:31 AM